project landmine

watch your step

An Open Thank-You Letter to the Students of FPU

Note from the author:
Listen to this song:

Read this article while listening to above song
Try to fight back tears
Fail. Mop tears up with your sleeve
Continue and finish reading article
Listen to the song 5-6 more times, then jump over to this video:

Listen to it and cry for at least 20 more minutes
Bring all your friends into the room to sing this together
Find a friend with an acoustic guitar and make him play the above song, even if he or she doesn’t know it
Have a sob-filled sing-a-long for a while. You’ll know when the time is right to stop.
Compose yourself
Go out and drink, you’re graduating!!!!

by Liz Davies

As one of the three writers on this blog who does not actually attend Franklin Pierce University, I think it’s about time I give you guys the big thank you that you all deserve. Aside from the incredible writers on Project Landmine, there are so many great people who I have met from your school. I’ve visited quite a few times over the past four years of my brother Mike’s attendance there, and I’ve had so much fun each time. Any weekend that I had free this past year, I spent at FPU because I knew that I was in for a good time, ridiculous situations, and some hilarious stuff. I always feel like I’m intruding and overstaying my welcome, but I just can’t resist coming back because I know that I’ll laugh the entire weekend.

I’m not the easiest person to be around, and yet you guys always made me feel so welcome and comfortable. You let me be obnoxious and peppy in the morning when you were hung over. You let me sleep on the floor in my really loud air mattress. You let me in on inside jokes when I didn’t even know who or what they were about. You tolerated me singing. You let me write for your blog, which started as a class project. You let me come to your senior events. You let me take pictures of you sleeping and then send them to Russian websites for mail-order grooms. Wait, what?

So here are just a few of my favorite moments from my visits to FPU:

When it snowed 2 feet on Halloween and we all went sledding. Seeing Spongebob, a Snapple bottle, Bettyanne, Things 1 and 2, and a ballerina (among others) flying down a hill on an inflatable sled into parked cars was a sight that I don’t think can be replicated any time soon.

When Sean dented the roof of Mike’s car after we all told him that it would never cave in. And then the subsequent panic/scrambling to find the keys so we could try to pop it back into place.

The time my family came to visit and my mom/aunts got wasted. We’re talking white-girl wasted. It was impressive. It made me realize that life and fun doesn’t end after graduation and gave me the goal to someday be as cool as my parents.

Every freaking time MLD or ghetto parm came into the picture. It was like Christmas morning, but with more booze and less class.

Spring weekend. I thought I knew what it meant to be drunk, but I was wrong. I witnessed a few things that I will never be able to un-see that weekend, including several students taking a drink of Pearly Pond, someone walking into a moving car, a tuft of hair from an undetermined source being put into a fanny pack and kept there forever, a public singing of “Willy Bum Bum”, and three grown men spooning on a twin-sized blow-up air mattress. I wish I made any of those things up.

The night after Spring Weekend when we all just sat around and talked. Getting to know you guys has been my favorite memory, and I can’t thank you enough for letting me sit in on these crazy conversations and interrupt when I get super excited and can’t hold in my thoughts. Talking about Degrassi for twenty minutes while someone thought we were talking about our personal experiences in our own high school was unbelievable, and I can’t tell you how many times I’ve told people that story. This is my all-time favorite memory of FPU.

You guys are headed for some incredible things, and I’m so excited for all of you. Not to sound like an afterschool special or all of your graduation speakers, but there is no doubt in my mind that you’ll all become so successful. There is so much talent in your group of friends, and I can’t wait to see what you guys do and become. I hope that you look back at this time in your life and remember how much fun it was. Because I had an incredible time at your school, and I didn’t even attend FPU.

The bottom line is: thank you for making me feel welcome at your school. Thank you for being kind and for making me laugh. Thank you for not throwing bottles at my mom’s car while it was parked in the main strip at Lakeview. I had so much fun at FPU with you guys and I’ll miss it. Not as much as you guys miss it, but a lot.

Good luck with everything, I’ll see you at graduation!

HAGS!

Lizzie (Mike’s sister)

About Liz Davies

Who's that gurrrrrrlllllll? Who's that gurrrrrrlllllll? It's Liz.

4 comments on “An Open Thank-You Letter to the Students of FPU

  1. Sean Connelly
    May 9, 2012

    Wow, you couldn’t slap my name on this? I feel like a douche now. Other than that another homerun!

    • Liz Davies
      May 9, 2012

      Well, I consider you an FPU student because you were always there when I was there, so thanks to you too, Sean! I never would have known who Ray Lewis was without you

  2. Samantha Boudreau
    May 11, 2012

    Aww Lizzie! I’ll miss ya gurll 🙂

  3. Anonymous
    May 11, 2012

    Wait…you didn’t go here?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 9, 2012 by in About Project Landmine and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

Tweeeet Tweet

