project landmine

watch your step

Celebrate America with a Drinking Game

by Liz Davies

Anyone who’s read my article on the best graduation songs knows that I’m not a huge fan of the song “We Are Young” by NYC based band, Fun. It’s not that I think it’s a bad song, I just got sick of it after hearing it 15 times a day on the radio. “But Liz, why didn’t you just change the channel?” you may be thinking. Well, to you I answer: it was either on every other station I changed it to, or there was a commercial running. “Liz, why don’t you just get an iPod?” you may be also wondering. Well, to you, Ms. Fancy-Pants, I respond: I havean iPod. It’s an iPod from 2005 and the screen smashed when I became so angered by the prospect of working out that I threw it into my duffel bag, so I can’t pick what song I listen to.

Fun. redeems themselves with “Some Nights”

“Some Nights”, however, had me hooked from the moment I first heard it. I love a good drumbeat, and lead singer Nate Reuss, absolutely nails the vocals. You can hear the passion in every note he sings, and his range is unbelievable, even if it gets some help from auto-tune at times. I liked it so much that I actually bought it. Yes, I paid actual money for a song.

And the music video made me love this song even more. It chronicles the plight of several Civil War soldiers before, during, and after their battles. The band Fun. enthusiastically and dramatically joins them on the battlefield, using this song as an anthem to get them through the night.

So as you and your friends lie by the pool, imbibing in the national drink of the good old USA (PBR?), take a second to listen to this song and watch the music video. You won’t be sorry. But if that doesn’t help, here’s a drinking game to accompany the music video:

Take one sip anytime:

You see a soldier that’s probably under 18

You see an animal (bonus sip for animals in battle!)

Someone is wearing suspenders

An American flag is waving proudly (bonus if it’s a tattered flag!)

The band Fun. dances or performs merrily in the middle of an epic battle

You see someone’s breath from the cold

The lead singer of Fun. jumps, fist bumps, or punches the air

Finish Your Drink When:

A heavily bearded confederate soldier gets stabbed with a bayonet by a union soldier with fantastically blue eyes

I’m pretty sure this is what the Founding Fathers had in mind. Happy Independence Day, enjoy your freedom and ‘Murica!

About Liz Davies

Who's that gurrrrrrlllllll? Who's that gurrrrrrlllllll? It's Liz.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 4, 2012 by in Project Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

Tweeeet Tweet

